Day 4-Sunday, July 11th

July 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

Oh my word. What a day. I’m completely exhausted. My flight was supposed to leave at 7:00 am this morning, but got delayed because of “weather” problems. I have been told by the Americans who live here that it’s very common for flights to get cancelled/delayed if someone important is coming into town or if they have very few people on a flight. In my case, there weren’t many people flying so they waited to put us on the 6:00 pm flight. Today has been by far the most stressful day I’ve experience in a long time. I’m in a foreign country, alone, don’t know the language, and I don’t have a phone. That is not a good combo. Needless to say, I was feeling pretty anxious the whole day. Thankfully, I met a young EA man about 27 years old who spoke English, let me borrow his phone, translated the things the airport workers said into English, and basically helped me get through the whole day.

I did have one pretty nerve-racking moment where I was sitting outside of the airport at noon waiting to go grab lunch w/ one of the American girls that I had stayed the night with before I had to come back for my flight that evening, and I was standing near the entrance/parking lot waiting for about 20 mins. for her to come and pick me up. Well, near the parking lot there are many small groups of men waiting to offer people a taxi ride from the airport to their homes (a way of making money). And there were also many young EA soldiers walking around. I know that none of them would have done anything or harmed me in anyway, but I felt incredibly vulnerable and alone. This was one of the few times where I thought to myself, “Okay, now why did I choose to travel alone?” I started to really regret my decision to come by myself and those 30 mins. felt like the longest 30 mins. of my life. This is definitely not a story that my mom will enjoy reading 🙂 but it happened, and I’m thankful that the Father continually keeps His hand over me at all times. He holds my trust.

Anyways, I made it to DD safely. I’m so thankful to be here, and I’m excited about getting to teach tomorrow! Unfortunately, my bags did not make it w/ me to DD, but hopefully they will come sometime tomorrow. Courtney’s roommate has been so great, and is letting me borrow some clothes and everything else I need. It would be nice to have my own things, but what can you do.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 4-Sunday, July 11th at let's be honest....

meta

