Day 7-Wednesday, July 14th

July 16, 2010 § 4 Comments

I just realized that it’s been a week since I left home. That’s weird. It doesn’t feel that long at all. Anyways, I know I’ve said it before, but these kids are seriously smart. With my older classes I had them respond to a topic in writing and then read it to the class. It said, “When I grow up I want to be a ________ because…” I walked around the class to check their progress/make sure they’re working, etc. It’s just so…I don’t have the word to describe it…but I will walk close to the students and they’ll stop talking and start taking out their notebook or pretend like they’re working, or ask for the directions a 3rd time and say, “Do you want us to write?” Haha. I know that some of them would rather not be there, some have no idea what I’m asking, and I know that some are just refusing to work because I’ve heard them speak in English and they’re fully capable of orally describing what they want to be (which I gave as an option).

 

And then you have those like Deborah who stands up and says so boldly and passionately, “I want to be a doctor when I grow up. I want to help sick patients and make them feel better. I want to get a scholarship to an American university and study there. I want to get a job in American and make my family happy.” Man, you have no idea how badly I want her to reach those goals. I want all of them to be able to do the things they desire. A young boy said, “I want to be a scientist so I can find a cure for HIV/AIDS. This is killing many people in my country, and I want to find a way to help them.” 6th grade students, yall. Geez, these kids have big dreams and want to do so much. I’m trying to just encourage these students in that, and let them know that it’s possible. I’m very much a realist, and I know that some won’t have the life they dream of in the future, but some can. I know that some will.

My 4th grade class was probably my favorite class yet. They were very excited and engaged in the activity we were doing. I was asking them what they like to do in their “free time” and was explaining what that meant. One little boy said, “I like to read the Bible.” I was a little taken back by his response because I didn’t expect a 4th grade student to say that, but I quickly said, “Good, good. I like to read the Bible, also.” I want to take advantage of these moments, as small as they may be. I know that it’s not incredibly personal in a class full of students, but I do want them to know that I love the Father and follow Him. I hope to have many more opportunites like this in the future.

§ 4 Responses to Day 7-Wednesday, July 14th

  • laura says:

    alex: love you, praying for you. praying that you will have some divine encounters and that God will set up some amazing opportunities for you to share the gospel. praying for your safety physically, but that you will be so dangerous spiritually to the environment that you’re in. LOVE YOU.

  • yvonne says:

    My sweet precious daughter, I am so proud of your work and the endeavors that you are doing and working so hard in love for these children and people. I enjoy the blogs and I can just hear you. I have shared your address with a couple people hear who supported you. Be encouraged and your dad and I love and miss you dearly. xoxox p.s. some of these make me giggle!

  • Becky Garate says:

    Hi Alex
    Girl what an adventure you are on! After reading your comments of the kids in school, the conclusion is that kids are kids no matter where they are and what language they speak. Now you know the meaning of differentiating a curriculum, so by the time you get your own classroom, GIRL you are going to be a pro. Ha Ha Man, I still can’t believe our little SANKAS is in Africa. Well enjoy and be CAREFUL, We love ya and always thinking about you.

  • Tasha Garcia says:

    Alex,
    I love reading your blogs! I am imagining all of it as I read…you are so brave. I know your faith in God is what makes you brave…but still…you are brave! I am praying for you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 7-Wednesday, July 14th at let's be honest....

meta

