Day 11&12-Sunday/Monday, July 18-19th

July 23, 2010 § Leave a comment

Life is so different here, but it’s so good. It’s refreshing. It’s difficult at times. It’s an adjustment, but I have found so much beauty in the simplicity. There is no air conditioning. We had running water the first couple of days I was here (only cold), and then it stopped working. So, I’ve been taking a shower via the big green bucket. I fill it up with cold water, and use a pitcher to rinse. It’s works pretty well, actually. You just have to get used to the chilly water and then you’re good. The shower is a small, square , ceramic plate with a drain. No curtain. We’ve had electricity for the most part, but sometimes it decides to go out. So that means no light and no fans. Not a good combination when it gets really hot out.
The mornings and evenings are actually cool and so nice. If you can make it through the 1-5pm heat stretch then you’re doing good. Just to be on the safe side, I don’t drink any of the water from the sink (when it’s working). I brush my teeth and such with the purified water. Mainly because I’m staying here for a short time, so I don’t want to risk getting sick. The girls here use it though because they live here.
I usually wake up at 7:30 every morning to get ready and get to school on time. I walk to and from school each day, but it’s just a 10-15 min. walk each way, so it’s not too bad. I really enjoy these times-seeing the people out on the streets. The kids run up to shake my hand and either yell, “forengi” (foreigner), you!, hi!” or some other English word they know. I also had a boy about 18 years old come up to me and profess his love for me as I was walking. I just shook my head, gave a little smile and kept walking. I don’t really worry about walking by myself even though it’s a new/different place for me. For the most part, people will leave me alone. They just like to stare, ask for money, or like the kids, shake my hand. It’s funny; it’s so different but I love it so far.
Many of the people also beg for money when they see you in public because they assume that you have money because you’re a foreigner. Which is a pretty accurate assumption because we are so much more wealthy than they are and they know it, but usually the girls that live here don’t give them money but rather they’ll buy them food or water. It’s really hard especially when I see the kids running around begging for “dabo” (bread).
There is one ATM machine here, and there’s no guarantee that it will be working each day. Before going into the post office you have to get patted down, and they search the bag. The female guard is really nice, but I’m afraid she’s a little more thorough on her pat down than I prefer, if you know what I mean.  It’s a little uncomfortable, but I understand that she’s doing her job, and it’s one thing that you have to adjust to.
I think one of the saddest things that I have seen takes place at the Orthodox church here. Many of the people sit outside of the church when the priest is preaching because they don’t feel worthy enough to go inside. The people who think they’re doing “pretty good” can go inside, and then the further you get from the entrance is how people view their worth. If they don’t think they’re good enough to go inside then they stay out and listen from there. It’s sad to think that their perspective of the Father is so screwed up, and they really have no understanding of the G or of Truth. They think their actions determine how He views them or how He feels about them, and they don’t know that His love is unconditional and His grace is sufficient. There are broken people here, believing lies and being held in spiritual bondage because of jacked up teaching. It’s just like anywhere else in the world, and it doesn’t get any easier to see and live among.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 11&12-Sunday/Monday, July 18-19th at let's be honest....

meta

