Day 13-Tuesday, July 20th

July 23, 2010 § Leave a comment

Man, I taught 3rd grade for the first time today. It was an adventure, let me tell you. Those little kids hardly know any English, but they’re stinkin’ cute. I taught them some new songs, and we sang a lot. We sang Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star, Mary Had A Little Lamb, Jingle Bells, and Pharoah, Pharoah (with the motions). They loved it! Because it was my first time teaching their class, we did a simple question and answer time where I told them about myself and my life in the States. One little boy raised his hand and asked if I had any kids. Hahahha. I just laughed and showed him my left hand, and told him that I had no ring, no husband, and no kids. The whole class thought that was really funny. I guess it’s pretty appropriate for a 22 yr. old young women to have kids here.
When I first got into my 6th grade class, I asked them how their weekend was and asked what they did. I was trying to tell them that in America, that is a common question to ask/talk about with others when you see them for the first time at the beginning of the week. I asked some of them to stand up and explain to me what they did. It’s funny because they like to include every little detail rather than just the main things they did. Many of them said, “On Saturday, I woke up at 1 o’clock (EA time) ate my breakfast and helped my mother clean. Then I ate lunch and went and played football (soccer) with my friends. Then I came home and ate dinner and went to sleep. On Sunday…and on, and on, on…”  🙂 The only difficult thing about this class is their talking. I’m sure it’s because I’m a new, foreign teacher and they think they can take advantage of me, but it’s so hard to keep them on track. I have a group of about 5-6 boys and 7-8 girls that work really well and always participate in the activities, but for the rest of the class it’s like pulling teeth to get them to join in. I know it’s because a lot of them don’t know English, so they’re nervous about speaking and messing up, but I’m trying to explain that practice is the only way they’re going to get better. It’s a challenge, but I really do love their class…
Also, today I got to eat a traditional meal with the people group that the team here really has a heart for. I can’t really give details about the people group, but most of them are unreached and haven’t heard the G. Anyways, we went over to this woman’s house and she fixed us the best meal ever! She made a macaroni pasta with spicy meat sauce, papaya/banana juice, watermelon, Coke, water, and a traditional hot milk/spice tea at the end. In this culture, the meal is served in a large bowl, and everyone sits on the floor and eats from the same dish with their hands! Yum! I’ve never eaten this way w/ 5 other people, but it was so so good! The woman’s name was Habon and she was super nice and hospitable.
She turned on her TV for us and we watched a couple of episodes of MTV’s “Cribs”. Wow. It was pretty sickening to watch. Just to be here and see the needs of the people, and then to watch that show where American celebrities, musicians, and sports stars are drowning in money and spending it on ridiculous amounts of toys, cars, homes, and completely unnecessary things. It was just hard to be sitting in a small living room where 10 people sleep, eat, and live life everyday. Their kitchen and bathroom (squatty potty) are outside and no bigger than my closet at home. It’s difficult to not be frustrated with the lack of perspective and junk that people (including myself) can get so consumed with at home. The American Dream…it’s a killer. I mean, I’m not against people who have money or those who have acquired wealth, I’m not saying that at all, but what are you doing with that money? Where is going? What are you spending it on? I don’t know…you just can’t help but think about those things here.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 13-Tuesday, July 20th at let's be honest....

meta

