Day 14-Wednesday, July 21st

July 23, 2010 § Leave a comment

Man, 9th graders are tough. I think this was the hardest class that I’ve taught so far. I don’t know if it’s the age or maybe they just don’t want to participate (maybe my lessons aren’t very good either) but some of them are determined to try my patience. I did a really simple lesson where I gave them time to write about their favorite holiday, and then I explained many of the American holidays. I asked them to give as many details as they could and to tell me why they liked the holiday. Who do they celebrate with? What do they eat? What are some traditions? (I had to explain the meaning of this word quite a few times) Then I asked them to stand up and read their paper to the rest of the class. Only a few of them were willing to share, and it was the usual ones who always participate. Then I started choosing some of them randomly to share; I don’t think they liked that very much. 🙂 I even changed it to where they could just tell me the holiday and give me ONE reason why they liked it. Still…no response. Geez, I’m not really sure what to do. Next time I may tell them that they don’t have to write, and they can just verbally tell me about the topic. We’ll see how that goes. I mean, the class is conversational English-it’s all about practicing speaking the language, but hardly any of them want to talk, unless it’s to each other in their native language. 🙂 I talked to Jerryann, my friend who teaches at this school every Friday, about all of this and she said that all of the 9th graders should be able to write in English by this point. So…yeah, I’m not really sure what to do. I usually walk around the class to track their progress, and like 15 minutes into the activity some of the students have only written like one sentence. I felt pretty discouraged by the time I left the class, but who knows. Hopefully it will be better next week.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 14-Wednesday, July 21st at let's be honest....

meta

