Day 15-Thursday, July 22nd

July 23, 2010 § 5 Comments

Today I went on my first hike in Africa! SO beautiful. We drove about an hour and a half out to a small village and then hiked to a “waterfall”.  We took a big van, but it’s not like a typical van than you’re used to. Basically there are no seats or seatbelts, just two benches along the two sides of the back of the van. We fit about 12 people into the back and took off. We were driving and got pretty close to a border area and was run off the road by another van! It was pretty crazy! It was like they were trying to get to the border first or something. They came up on the left side of our van and started swerving close to us. We had to swerve off to the right and ended up in the ditch. It was pretty scary, but everyone was fine.
Then we were stopped at the military base (you have to drive through it to get to the other side of the road to get to the place we were hiking) and the soldiers were giving us a hard time, asking all kinds of questions and looking in our bags. It was a new experience for those of us who are brand new to this area, but everyone else who has lived here for awhile said that it was totally fine. They said it was fine; they just wanted to hassle us.
Anyways, so we finally made it to the village to start our hike, and we picked up some kids and teenagers who wanted to hike with us 🙂 It was so fun! We hiked along the river, in a valley area and there were large cliffs along both sides. It was a pretty rocky climb, but the land was so beautiful. Supposedly, we were hiking out to a waterfall which I thought would be this huge, grand waterfall or something. Ha. I was so wrong.  We hiked probably 4 miles or so and finally made it to the waterfall. Honestly, I would probably call it a big rapid, if that. No lie, it was probably a 5 foot drop. We all just started laughing and guessed that our idea of a waterfall was much different than the EA men who were leading us. It was well worth it, though. The hike was beautiful and I met a couple of girls, probably 6 or 7, who quickly became my buddies. They walked with me the whole way, held my hand, and stole my sunglasses for a while. 🙂 And I finally took some pictures! I got quite a few good ones, and I’m planning on taking a lot more while I’m here.

§ 5 Responses to Day 15-Thursday, July 22nd

  • yvonne says:

    keep the blogs coming…..

  • Sarah says:

    That sounds like so much fun!! Hiking is so fun and it probably gave you a lot of time to hang out with those girls. It sounds like the area was beautiful and that you are really enjoying yourself. I am enjoying reading about your experience and look forward to seeing those pictures soon.

  • Betty says:

    Hey Alex, What an awesome adventure. It is so great and you are so brave. Good for you. Thinking and praying for you. Enjoy…Love Betty

  • Barbara says:

    Good afternoon Alex! I am enjoying reading about your daily experienes and as I read I am in awe of you sweet, gentle spirit. We are praying for you and Madison is here and she loves your t-shirt.

    • alexdroogsma says:

      Thanks Barbara! I’m so glad you’re able to read up on my adventures 🙂 I’m glad Madison likes the shirt. Miss you, and give my mom a BIG hug for me next time you see her!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 15-Thursday, July 22nd at let's be honest....

meta

