Day 8-Thursday, July 15th

July 23, 2010 § 3 Comments

Praise the Father for Mucinex DM, let me just say that. My cough/congestion junk is finally starting clear up. I did not teach today, so that has helped my voice too. Hopefully, I’ll be back to normal soon…

Today I got to go and help at a medical clinic that the company here is in charge of. It’s about 20 mins. outside of DD in a very small village. Dr. Sarah is an m from Mexico who works for the company and has committed her work to serving the people of this region. She is around 50 years old, and lives by herself in DD. She is friends w/ all of the Americans here and works closely w/ them in their projects. She has such a sweet spirit, and I know that the people here are so grateful for her commitment. I have so much respect for her-I genuinely don’t know if I could do the things that she is doing. She knows that the Father has called her to serve these people and is walking obediently by faith, following the Father’s calling for her life regardless of the circumstances. I admire her a lot and have learned so much from her in the short time that I’ve been here.
The clinic is held in a small opening in the village. The Dr’s office is a very small room, and the “pharmacy” is outside under a shade of trees. This is where I helped out. After the patient’s had seen Dr. Sarah they would come to the table with their diagnosis and prescription. I just helped pull the medicine and run the table.
There is a young 12 year old boy who comes and helps at the clinic every week. His name is Ayub, and he’s probably the most gorgeous EA boy I’ve ever seen. He speaks 3 languages (and will probably learn English one day), and helps translate for the people at the clinic as well as the team working here every week. This is incredibly helpful for the pharmacy part when we’re trying to explain to the patient that they have to take the medicines “3 times a day for 2 weeks”. Gotta make sure we get that right 🙂
Yeah, Ayub is probably one of my favorite people that I’ve met so far (there are quite a few). He was such a nice kid and stayed at the clinic all morning, almost 5 hours, until we were completely finished. I never heard him complain once. I know I probably wouldn’t have understood him if he did, but you get the point. 🙂
Also, there’s a team of 14 people here from MS volunteering for the week. They looked very familiar when I first met them, and one girl, Michelle (the youth minister’s wife) who’s 22 said, “I feel like I’ve met you before. Do I know you from somewhere?” Turns out, this group was at a Student Life camp in 2009 that I had staffed at. They did Mission Camp and were on my partner’s team, so I had visited their site a couple times and hung out with them. Really small world. We both ended up in Africa together at the same time. CRAZY! They’re a lot of fun and some of the girls are joining us at the school tomorrow. It’s going to be so good.

§ 3 Responses to Day 8-Thursday, July 15th

  • yvonne says:

    How crazy “awesome” is that meeting a SL aquaintance….

  • Sarah says:

    Alex!! I am just catching up with your blogs because I’ve been out of town for a week without access to a computer. It is so great to hear all about your adventures, and I’m so excited that you are getting to feel and see the comfort and determination that our Father brings when we follow His calling. It sounds like you are exactly where you need to be and He is providing every step of the way. I’m glad that you are building relationships with the kids there and hand in there with planning the lessons. You’ll be a pro before you know it. I’m glad that you are getting to serve in different areas, and my family and I will continue to pray for you! Miss you but know that you exactly where you need to be. Love you girl!!

  • how funnnn! and i’m so proud of you making sure the patients take their meds at the “right time.” you’re practicing at least one of the 5 rights of medications 🙂
    and so cool about the ms peeps. small world.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 8-Thursday, July 15th at let's be honest....

meta

