Day 19-Monday, July 26th

July 30, 2010 § Leave a comment

I didn’t have school today b/c it was a holiday, so I got to help out at another medical clinic that the team puts on here in DD. A lot of elderly people come to this clinic, and they’re so much fun to work with.
-We had one man who was a return patient who had been having heart problems, but since he’d been to the clinic and had been taking his meds. he has been doing so much better. He was very thankful for what the team here had been doing and how much his health has improved.
-Dr. Sarah also had a woman come in who has had four miscarriages and then gave birth to a still born. This was her first time to see a doctor.
-At the very end of the clinic, an elderly man came in who was in pain, and by the end of his exam the Dr. was almost certain that he has testicular cancer. Man, when I heard that my heart just broke for him. Before he came in he didn’t know exactly what the pain was, and when he walked out today he knew that more than likely he now has cancer. That changes everything. Sometimes I think about what I would do if I were in his place. Part of me wouldn’t want to know the truth so that I could continue to live my like normal and have my time end when the Father decided (especially at his age). I wouldn’t want to be a burden on my family, and I wouldn’t want to have ridiculous medical bills that I could never afford. The other part of me would want to know so that I could fit it and fight for as much time as possible. I would want to take advantage of the time I had left and help to prepare the people I love.
Death is such a weird thing. It comes so quickly for some, and the people left behind are left to deal with the aftermath. I’m so thankful to know a Father who has defeated death and because of this, I have the gift of eternal life and death has lost it’s sting. Praise Him.
On a much lighter note, I went to a craft class today w/ the m girls that live here. They use the class as a way of meeting nationals and girls from a specific people group. Anyways, the girls were doing “kedab”; it’s a lot like henna, but the dye is black and they draw designs on your arms and hands. So I let them do it on me, and it’s pretty intense. 🙂 It’s just such a strong contrast between my skin and the black dye-but they love it because it shows up so well. I really like it, it’s just taking some getting used to. I’m trying to experience as much of the culture and people I possibly can, and this was one of the ways…temporary black tattoo designs all over my hands and wrists. 🙂 Yes, please.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 19-Monday, July 26th at let's be honest....

meta

