Day 30-Friday, August 6th

August 8, 2010 § Leave a comment

Woah. Day 30. I can’t believe it. I didn’t even realize it until I just wrote it.
Anyways, today ends my time at Notre Dame School. It was a sad day, for sure. Court came with me to see my classes and take some pictures. I had grades 8, 7, 5, and 4. Two girls from grade 7 wrote me the nicest notes and gave me a yellow, heart-shaped pencil sharpener and a pink highlighter. Seriously, so cute. They told me I look like Bella from Twilight. Ha! I think any American girl w/ light skin and brown hair would be told that here. 🙂 I took a lot of pictures of my students, and they kinda got crazy when I brought out the camera, but  it wasn’t too bad.
At the end of my last class, I walked down to the staff room to say good-bye to the teachers and on of the head guys, Shaleshi, who has helped me a lot since I’ve been here. I was getting ready to go, but then he told me to wait for 5 minutes. I didn’t know what was going on, and then he led me over to the kindergarten playground and had me sit down and wait. We sat for a little while and then all of the students started to walk out of their classrooms and came to the playground. I would say there are at least 400 students that go to this school, and they all came. Apparently, Shaleshi had set up a good-bye assembly for me! I was so surprised. I felt kinda uncomfortable and embarrassed because they had done all of it for me, but it was really nice of them. I really didn’t deserve a farewell like that.
One of the women gave a short little speech thanking me for coming to teach and how grateful they were for the time I spent there. Then Shaleshi told me that some of the students had collected money to get me a parting gift. They bought me a silver necklace and matching bracelet! I was so overwhelmed and it just made me feel so appreciated…and so humbled that they would give their money to get me a gift. They told me to never forget them, and to come back and see them soon.
Then at the end, a group of about 20 7th graders came to the front and started sing a song for me-I can’t remember it all exactly, but some of the lyrics said, “Thanks, Thanks, Thanks Miss Alex. Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Miss Alex. Don’t go, Don’t go, Miss Alex. Don’t go, don’t go, Miss Alex. We love you! We love you! We love you, Miss Alex!” They had hand motions and everything! Oh my word, my heart just felt so full and they made me feel so good. I had no idea that they took the time to plan, practice, and make all of this happen for me. Despite the challenges and the hard days, I feel so blessed to have spent 4 weeks w/ these students. If nothing else, if they didn’t learn a single word of English, at least I got to love on them each day and encourage their dreams, goals, ideas, and their words. I’ll keep those faces w/ me forever. I’ll miss them, for sure.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 30-Friday, August 6th at let's be honest....

meta

