Day 31-Saturday, August 7th

August 8, 2010 § Leave a comment

Today I got to experience my first feeding. The team here cares for the homeless and poor by providing meals each week for them. It was such an honor to be able to serve the people and to experience their need and gratitude first hand. For many of the people, this is the best meal they receive all week. Usually the feeding is done on Tuesday and the place is full w/ at least 150 usually more, but since this was a special feeding on Saturday there were fewer people. It’s hard to get the word out that quickly, but it was still a good crowd. Court and I sat with some of her favorite women that come to the feeding each week. They’re all so incredibly sweet, and even though I couldn’t communicate with them it was nice just to sit, hold hands, smile, and use as many gestures as possible. 🙂 One of the women calls Courtney her daughter, and Courtney calls her “hoyo” (mother). It’s so good to see the trust they’ve built with her and the love they see in her.
After the feeding, we went out to “Papa” which is a really nice outside swimming pool and café. The water was freezing, but it felt really good in the hot sun. All of the people stared at us #1 because we’re forengi’s and #2 because we were all laying out in the sun…they don’t understand why we would want our skin to get any darker. 🙂 Court and I went for Round 4 of the mango juice. We’ve had it at 4 different places in town and now we’ve ranked which ones are the best. Papa’s is coming in at a close second because they mixed it w/ vanilla ice cream so it was more like a milkshake and it was really cold…like I always say, YUM! I’m sure I’ll be having it at least one more time (if not more) before I leave on Tuesday.
Later in the afternoon, the guys came over and offered to give us one more ride on the motorcycle before I leave DD. (They’re also leaving in a couple of weeks, so everyone is trying to get in as much hang out time as possible.) Court and I went out together, and it was seriously one of the coolest things ever. It was late afternoon so the sun was setting and we went out of town, farther up in the mountains, and the weather was beautiful…the view was just incredible! I’m not sure that my mom would be too happy knowing that I went out on a motorcycle ride on curvy roads, but hey…I’m in Africa. When am I going to get the chance to do this again? Hopefully she’ll understand. 🙂
Then we came home and had a huge meal of leftovers…it was mostly national food (so good!) and played Apples to Apples for a couple of hours. I love days like this. Getting to love and serve the people, hanging out with friends, and having relaxed evenings. I just love the pace of life here. It’s not over run with a pressing schedule; I’m not running from one thing to another…just living life and loving every moment of it. Community style w/ others. I’m a big fan.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 31-Saturday, August 7th at let's be honest....

meta

